2018 ABA District 1 Honor Band Information

ABA District One Honor Band
February 16-17, 2018
Grissom High School

Auditions for ABA District One Honor Band are held at the District All-State Auditions.

Print District Honor Band Schedule 2018

Print IMPORTANT Grissom HS Campus Map & Directions

JOSEPH HERMANN – High School Clinician 

Joseph Hermann, Director of Bands 14 APR 2009 TTU Photo/Dean Carothers

 Joseph Hermann is Director of Bands Emeritus at Tennessee Technological University in Cookeville, Tennessee, where he served for 28 years. Under his leadership the Tennessee Tech Bands grew to a level of national prominence, over 25 new pieces were premiered, and the wind and percussion program became an influential force for bands in the Southeast. Graduates of Tech and past members of the TTU Bands are leading educators, performers in the premiere military bands, and orchestras, and composers, arrangers, recording engineers, and music business directors across the nation.

Before his appointment at Tennessee Tech in 1989, Hermann was a director at the University of Arizona, Indiana University, and East Tennessee State University. His secondary school teaching includes directing the Dowling High School Band, West Des Moines, Iowa, and supervising the Des Moines Catholic Instrumental Music Program.  Under his leadership, the school music program grew to unprecedented enrollment.  In addition, he served briefly as the Educational Director for Bands of America and McCormick’s Enterprises, a music corporation, in Chicago, Illinois.

Hermann is sought after as a conductor, adjudicator, and speaker and has presented clinics, workshops, and has conducted in over thirty states, in Canada, and throughout Japan.  His symphonic bands have been featured ensembles at state, regional and national conventions; his interpretations have been broadcast on National Public Radio, and recordings of his ensembles have been issued as reference for music educators nationwide through music publishers and on commercial labels  He is a proponent of new music for the winds, has premiered many works for band and remains an active advocate for commissioning projects.

 Hermann has been a career-long member of CBDNA, NAfME, NBA, the Tennessee Bandmasters Association, has served as the editor for the New Music Reviews for the Tennessee Musician, and is a past board member of the Tennessee Music Educators Association.  In 1996, Hermann was elected to the prestigious American Bandmasters Association, served as a member of its Board of Directors, and in 2009, Hermann was the President of the ABA, served as the Chair of its Board of Directors, and is currently the Chair of the ABA Foundation.  He is a member of Phi Beta Mu, a past President of the PAC-10 Band Directors Association, a past Province Governor for Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, and holds honorary memberships in Kappa Kappa Psi and Tau Beta Sigma. He is an Associate Member of ASBDA.  He is the recipient of the KKѰ Distinguished Service to Music Medal in Conducting and the TBΣ Paula Crider Outstanding Band Director awards.  In 2015, Hermann was inducted into the Tennessee Bandmasters Hall of Fame.   Mr. Hermann is affiliated as an Artist/Conductor/Clinician with Jupiter Band Instruments, Inc., manufacturers of band and orchestra instruments located in Mt. Juliet, Tennessee.  He has been married to his wife, Kay, for 47 years, and they have two daughters and four grandchildren.

 Even after retirement, Hermann remains enthusiastically engaged in conducting, presenting clinics, adjudication, and promoting the positive results of music education in the school curriculum.  



KIM BAIN – Middle School Clinician

Kim Bain is in her twelfth year as Director of Bands at Pizitz Middle School in Vestavia Hills, Alabama.  Ensembles under her leadership have consistently been cited for musical excellence at both the state and national levels throughout her 28 years of teaching.  Ms. Bain was named 2012 Teacher of the Year for the Vestavia Hills City Schools.  In 2013, her Symphonic and Concert Bands performed at the Music For All National Middle School Music Festival in Indianapolis, Indiana. The John Phillip Sousa Foundation awarded the Sudler Cup to the Pizitz Band program that same year.  She was awarded the Phi Bet Mu, Rho Chapter, Outstanding Bandmaster Award in 2014.  That same year the Pizitz Symphonic Band performed at the CBDNA/NBA Southern Division Conference at the University of North Florida.  In December of 2014, the band performed at the 15th Annual Southeastern United States Middle School Clinic at Troy University.  The Pizitz Band was declared a national winner of the National Band Association’s Blue Ribbon Award of Excellence in 2015, and in December of 2015 her band performed at the Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinic.  Last year the Pizitz Jazz Band and Percussion Ensembles performed at the Alabama Music Educator’s Conference and the Symphonic Band performed at the Music for All Regional Festival in Atlanta, Georgia.  This year the Pizitz Band will be performing at the CBDNA/NBA Southern Division Conference at the University of South Florida.

Ms. Bain received National Board Certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards in November 2010.  She has served as a clinician for the Alabama Bandmaster’s Association and guest conducted numerous honor bands and camps in Alabama, Mississippi, and Georgia.  

She holds a Bachelor of Science in Music Education, a Master of Arts in Music Education, and an Education Specialist degree from the University of Alabama.  She also holds a Master of Music degree in saxophone performance from Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio.  Ms. Bain’s professional affiliations include the National Association for Music Education, Alabama Music Educators Association, Alabama Bandmasters Association, the National Band Association, and Phi Beta Mu.  In addition to her teaching activities, Ms. Bain is an active freelance musician in the Birmingham area.


Total Page Visits: 1323 - Today Page Visits: 3
About Regina Raney 11 Articles
District 1 Chairman